Log in

No account? Create an account
The Titfield Thunderbolt Hue and Cry Whisky Galore The Man in The White Suit Previous Previous Next Next
Inspector Morose - The Titfield Thunderbolt
Heisenberg might have stayed here
Inspector Morose
Book Review: The First Inspector Morse Omnibus - The Dead of Jericho, Service of All the Dead, and The Silent World of Nicholas Quinn, by Colin Dexter
This volume contains the first three Morse novels that were adapted for television, as opposed to the first three originally written (and even then, according to IMDB, not quite in broadcast order). The characterisation of Morse does seem a bit different in the books, a much heavier drinker and more lecherous than romantic. Even so, Morse's law (the romantic interest will either turn out to be the murderer or the next victim) still applies. The University is a peripheral character only in these books; the University Press features in one (Jericho), and an Examination Board in another (Quinn). Whilst most of Oxford is of course unchanging, I found it interesting to reflect that these three titles were originally published in the late 1970s and early 1980s (about 10 years before they were adapted for television), and the domesticity in the books in particular feels like it belongs to a world that is now mostly consigned to history programmes on the TV.

Tags: ,

Leave a comment